Lemon Lime and Bitters – Australia Inspiration Part 1

21 02 2010
Lemon Lime & Bitters Fixin's and Soda

Lemon Lime & Bitters Fixin's and Soda

A few months ago I traveled to Australia and my travel partner and I stumbled across a lovely drink called Lemon Lime and Bitters. It was made by a few recognizable companies and a few ones we had never heard off.  Every time I drank it I liked it that much more. I’d place it in the genre of Ale 8-1 or ginger ale type sodas. Not exactly but that same light taste with some sort of twist or tang to it.  Obviously, a taste I like! In this case the twang was the bitters. We took photos of the bottles hoping to order/find some when we got back to the States.  But my local grocery store had other plans for me.  When I was walking down the aisle I looked up and saw a bottle of bitters and I thought of the name again: Lemon Lime and Bitters.  That doesn’t sound complicated I bet I could make that… I have lemon lime soda at home… and now I have bitters. DONE! So I bought it and tonight I made it.

And it pretty much tastes exactly like what I had in Australia. Light and refreshing with a bit of a tang to it. Yum!

Thank you internet for this recipe (which is reprinted below in American vernacular):

Lemon Lime and Bitters

  • Splash of bitters
  • 5 parts Lemon Lime Soda
  • 1 part Lime Juice or Lime Cordial
  1. Splash a few drops of bitters onto the ice in glass
  2. Cover with 1 part Lime Juice and 5 parts Lemon Lime Soda
  3. Enjoy!
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

