Baby Spinach, Strawberry, and Goat Cheese Salad with Fig Walnut Salad Dressing

21 02 2010
The sous chef MADE me take this picture. Thank her later!

The sous chef MADE me take this picture. Thank her later!

This was a quick salad we took to a friends for dinner one night. I hadn’t told the sous chef that we were taking anything because it wasn’t confirmed yet so I just it upon myself to provide the salad I promised.  The only idea I had was to  do something with spinach (’cause I love it) and make a salad dressing from some honey a co-worker gave me from someone who harvested it in their or a friends backyard (can’t remember how long the chain of people is?) but I forgot the honey and wasn’t going to go back to work to get it before dinner.  So what did I do? Went to the grocery store, stepped inside, and saw the strawberries on sale and immediately knew what I had to do.

I got the spinach, strawberries, and some herbed goat cheese.  Done.   Except the dressing. So I went looking for something pre-made (French my personal stand-by wasn’t going to cut it one this one) but I managed to find some Fig Walnut Dressing which was really good. But honestly the huge chunks of goat cheese with the spinach and strawberries was all it needed in my opinion.  And any salad that doesn’t need a dressing is AMAZING because I think I like dressing more than I like greens. Sadly. I loved how the goat cheese acted like a nice glue to hold my strawberry  to my pile of spinach without any tine action.  It was wonderful!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

