Apple Cider Chicken served with Avocado Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce

10 01 2010
Apple Cider Braised Chicken and Avocado Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce

Apple Cider Braised Chicken and Avocado Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce (Photo levels adjusted)

I’m all backed up with posts so we are going to go with “pictures say a 1000 words” and keep my words to a minimum to get myself back on track. The chicken was actually going to be served on the pasta but when I got home it just seemed better served on the side and I had bought some apple cider from the grocery store.  So a google search later I ran across this recipe and went with it. I didn’t use any apples and I changed from just thyme to Herbs de Providence but other than that it was pretty much the same.  The chicken turned out tender and delicious!

The pasta on the other hand was a dinner long time coming. I bought the pasta months ago at an import shop because it was avocado flavored and looked like leaves but I was saving it for the perfect meal and anytime I save something like that I never use it.  Anyway,  so after months of not using it we made the pumpkin soup and that special idea came around: make pumpkin sauce from the left over soup. What a perfect use for some fancy pasta.  My original idea was to put some roasted red peppers in the pasta as well and go with it.  Well the sous chef had preserved some roasted red peppers but they had a problem and became unusable so we just went ahead without them.  I reheated maybe 2 cups of pumkin soup in a sauce pan and added some pepper and Herbs de Providence.  Maybe 1/2 teaspoon of pepper and 1.5 Tablespoons of Herbs de Providence.  Heated it and poured it over the avocado pasta.  The sauce didn’t cover the pasta as much as I imagined so I served it with some grated soft white cheese we had left over.  The resulting cheese, avocado, and light pumpkin flavor worked great together into a nice full flavored savory pasta side dish that went great with the chicken.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

