End of Summer Quiche served with Ozette Potatoes

25 08 2009
Quiche heavy with veggies and the Ozettes in the background

Quiche heavy with veggies with the Ozettes in the background and even propping up the crust that broke! The white in the front is the melted chevre.

This is a quiche with a past. That isn’t really true at all.  More or less we were looking for another meal at the market and I remembered this quiche I had seen. BUT I had forgotten that cookbook.  So I found a TINY “head” (really a single stalk 4 inches tall with a 3 inch diameter head) of broccoli I bought, a handful of sun gold tomatoes,  and planned on using some herbs I was certain to have left over.  Oh I also had a squash a friend grew so I was planning on using some of that as well. 

When I got home and consulted the cookbook tonight I learned really the 3 “recommended” veggies were roasted red peppers, 2 cobs worth of corn kernels, and onion.  Luckily, I had a corn of cob left over from last weeks meal and some onion left over from this weeks meal. So 2 out of the three sitting around not to bad! And the recipe also called for soft goat cheese which we had purchased this week from the market for the salad we had on Sunday, so really we went above and beyond the cook book with out even knowing it. Go us!

We cut up some of the squash, broccoli, and onion and friend them up in a pan. Than we added the corn to that pan for maybe a minute more (it was already cooked) and then all the veggies went straight into the frozen and cracked pie crust we’ve had in the freezer for some time now.  The last filling part the sous chef did was to top it all off with the soft goat chevre.   The egg part got a little hair raising after I didn’t measure the soy milk and it looked a little to thin for me.  I had already added some powdered soy milk to the mixture because the recipe called for 1/2 and 1/2.  So I added another egg, beat in a little nutmeg, and poured it over the veggies in the pie tin.  To top it off I dropped on halved and quartered Sun Gold tomatoes and in the oven it went. 

At the end of the 25 minutes it still seemed a bit liquidity and even though the recipe assured us it would set that way I let it cook for another 10 minutes. I was concerned about the 1/2 and 1/2 being replaced with soy milk essentially and the addition of another egg so I wanted to error on the side of “more firm.”  And boy did I error “right!”

The quiche was VERY filling and not to egg-y or strange in texture.  The egg did its job of holding all the veggies together and adding some great taste/texture to it but as soon as the fork found a fissure between the egg and the veggie the veggie side just split off making these nice slabs of quiche rich in veggies and flavors.  Usually with quiches my favorite part is clearly the pie crust (carb addict) and the filling is ok and I hope I finish it. In fact this is why I like those mini quiches for appetizers so much better than full sized quiche: more crust! But this one the filling gave the crust a run for its money.  The crust was an integral part of the quiche but I just kept eating both of them.  And with two bites left my full meter on my stomach popped to full. 

 

Heirloom Ozette Fingerling Potatoes

Heirloom Ozette Fingerling Potatoes

So what about those ozette potatoes I mentioned. Well it turns out they are the only native potato to Washington State, according to the very excited guy who sold them to us.  He recommended we boil them in salted water for a bit but not to long, and then cut them in half and brown the cut side with some olive oil in a frying pan.  He told us they had a nutty flavor and the sous chef agrees! I’ve never really been able to discern the “nutty” flavor but they were really good either way! Unfortunately, by the time the quiche was done they were a little on the cold side.  But the cooking times were very good and the potatoes were nice and soft with a slight crunch to the pan fried side with a creamy, nutty flavor.  Very very good!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

