Grilled Lemon Dill Marinated Flank Steak served with Dill Mashed Potatoes and Baked Asparagus

10 06 2009
Sorry the meat is out of focus

Sorry the meat is out of focus

Today’s ingredient du jour was dill.  Supposedly the season on asparagus was coming to a close so I wanted to grill some of it and wasn’t very inspired by much at the market this time around.  Except there was a lone stand selling a bunch of dill for about 2 dollars.  Inspiration!

I couldn’t bring myself to spend almost 30 dollars on ~2 lbs of meat so I opted to buy the natural flank steak at my local grocery store.  I found this recipe online and went with it. I didn’t have red wine so I used apple cider vinegar instead and added considerably more dill than it called for.  I let the flank stead marinate for about 3 hours in the refrigerator.  Than onto a grill it cooked for how ever long it took to look like this:

Nothing like a steak that is almost the size of the entire grill... I wish the grill were bigger!

Nothing like a steak that is almost the size of the entire grill... I wish the grill were bigger!

Done!

Done!

Onto the potatoes! The sous chef was the main cook for this one so I don’t have all the gory details of how they were made but I do know this recipe was followed substituting soy milk for the chicken stock. AND THEY WERE GOOD!

The Sous Chef in her element

The Sous Chef in her element

Sadly, I ended up not grilling the asparagus because there were just to many stalks and not enough grill space on a portable camping grill we have for our tiny apartment space.  So I coated them with olive oil, salt, and pepper and baked them until they were done.

So what are the reviews? Really good. The balance of flavors was quite nice; nothing overpowered anything and you could taste the dill subtilely in the meat and in the potatoes. The asparagus was cooked just right and yummy. Overall this was quite the successful dinner. AND there is enough left overs for at least one more meal and maybe two. Boo-yah.

Actions

Information

One response

14 06 2009
sneppl

my element = MASHED POTATOS

Leave a Reply

