Mint Syrup (Fresh Mint Steeping – Part II)

25 05 2009
Mint Syrup

Mint Syrup

That’s 3.25 CUPS of mint syrup from a whooping 5 cups of mint leaves:

Shucking the mint

Shucking the mint

After I found the mint cheap last week at the market this was my original idea: mint syrup for mint juleps.  Last week I only had one bunch of mint. This week I had four.  Lucky for me I found something to do with almost half of the leaves: Mint Chocoalte Chip Ice Cream! But with 3 cups down I still had 5 cups left and decided to do it all up for the mint juleps! So I found a recipe online for the Mint Julep Syrup and quickly realized it was basically simple syrup infused with mint. Duh.

5 cups of Mint Leaves

5 cups of Mint Leaves

So we coarsely chopped the 5 cups of mint leaves and boiled equal parts water and sugar until the sugar was dissolved. Once we had a nice clear simple syrup I added the 5 cups of mint and let it steep for about 6 hours.

Steeping the mint

Steeping the mint

The funny part about steeping it was right next to this pot on the stove was the pot with the mint steeping in the coconut milk for the ice cream. One pot the mint was in a clear liquid and the other in a white liquid. It made me laugh for no apparent reason.  Well once 6 hours was up I strained out the mint and poured the colored syrup into a jar. 

Just shy of a quart.

Just shy of a quart.

At using about 3/4 ounce per mint julep I have enough syrup to make about 32 glasses of mint julep. I don’t like it that much so I had better find new other ways to use it! One suggestion thus far is using it over pancakes… Now that is thinking! Oh and when I tasted this… it was MINT and SUGAR! Exactly what I expected with no fake taste in the mint.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

