Mizuna and Minced Chicken Stir-Fry

13 04 2009
Mizuna and Minced Chicken Stir-Fry

Mizuna and Minced Chicken Stir-Fry

This week at the market it was spring. Greens were abundant and in full force! 3 weeks ago I had found mizuna in one of my favorite stands but didn’t know what it was or what to do with it.  Last weekend I found it at another vendor’s stand AND they provided a recipe for something that wasn’t soup, used a new veggie, and sounded easy and yummy. So I bought two bunches of mizuna.

Than last week happened where I over-planned, overly complex, super good recipes and I never got to the mizuna and chicken recipe.  I had checked on the mizuna in my fridge and it looked a bit wilted.  I wasn’t sure if I could save it so I bought one more bunch to add to two wilted bunches and see what would happen.  As it happened the mizuna wilted on the outside leaves but the inside leaves were still good. So once the sous chef cracked the outer sarcophagus we were able to get about 1 bunch of good mizuna out of what we have and add one new one making the same amount we “started” with.

So onto the recipe itself.  It was pretty simple with the hardest part being the mincing of the chicken as neither of us have a food processor. So I did it by hand. Luckily, the sous chef knife is serrated (which normally would not be the best way to cut chicken as it sometimes rips it) but in this case it made cutting the chicken into smaller chunks doable and any ripping was ok as I was supposed to mince it anyway. After that the marinade was a 3 minute mix job where I replaced the rice wine with some plum wine the sous chef had around and then poured it over the chicken.

Other than that it was follow the recipe of cooking the chicken and then wilting the mizuna.  Easy and quick was true.  Now for the real test: taste!

The sous chef seemed to really like it.  I one the other hand am greens challenged. It don’t hate greens but they aren’t something I search out and generally cooked greens are lower on the list than raw greens.  I liked the taste and finished the dish no problem.  The mizuna clumped together when I tried to mix it around in the rice and the stalks were a bit stringy in my throat.  Which for most people is probably fine but I have a strange texture thing with stringy starting from melted cheese in my childhood that isn’t completely gone and this triggered it a bit.  Overall though once I could get one piece of mizuna mixed up with rice and some chicken it was good.  The real test for me will be the leftovers and how fast I eat those.  I think in this case though they are going to go within a reasonable amount of time.

Recipe as provided by Full Circle Farms:

3/4 lb chicken breast
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp Shao Xing rice wine
1 Tbsp corn starch
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp white pepper
3/4 lb mizuna
salt to taste

Mince the chicken in either a food processor or with a knife. Make sure there are no large pieces left or that you made it into a paste.  Combine the soy sauce, roce wine, corn starch, sugar, and white peper into a marinade.  Place minced chicken into the marinade and set aside.

Trim off the ends of the mizuna (best done while it is still in a big bunch) and then wash the leaves.  Heat 2 tsp of olive oil in a pan/wok over medium high heat.  Add the chicken and stir fry until fully done (about 4-6 minutes).  Turn off the heat and toss in the mizuna. Leave the pan on the burner until the mizuna starts to wilt and cooks down.  Season to taste with salt and serve over rice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

