Green Bean and Asparagus Casserole

13 04 2009

I’m late. This is like almost 2 weeks after the fact. I don’t even have the photo at this casa but you know what? I need to post this for ME! I also back dated this so who knows if anyone is even going to see it :)

This is one of those we wanted to do something easy and in bulk and would go a long way but not be terribly unhealthy like Tot-In-Tot casserole.  I’m not sure how it happened exactly but we decided to branch from the regular green bean casserole and throw in some asparagus.  And for protein some pre-cooked inherited caesar chicken chunks.  Now the one thing we did do differently is to use fresh asparagus and green beans instead of the usual canned. This is important for later on.

In an out of the ordinary moment and I’m not even sure why I thought this was a good idea I decided we should cook the casserole on Monday night after my class and just have it on hand for when we wanted to eat later in the week.  So we prepped the veggies and threw them in the casserole dish and added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and the chicken chunks. We made sure it was all coated good and then topped it with the classic french fried onions and in the oven she went!

1.5 hours later it wasn’t done.  I had expected it to take longer than 35 minutes that it takes for the canned type but I hadn’t expected THIS MUCH different. We decided it was time to go to bed so we pulled it out of the oven for the night and finish it the next day.  I happen to wake up the next morning at 6:00 or something and put it back in and let it cook for another 2-3 hours and finally it was done. We let it cool while we were at work and we ended up having a friend over for a quick 25 minute dinner before we all ran off to a theater show. So in the end the precooking REALLY paid off and saved us from eating out again but it wasn’t really the best idea ever.

Oh and it was awesome as I expected it to be. Duh.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

