Kohlrabi and Squash Empanadas

4 02 2009

OMIGOD YOU GUYS… sorry just watch legally  blonde the musical. Which is a slightly different post….

Having used the one kohlrabi recipe from my cookbook and still swinging on high from kohlrabi infatuation I consulted the great internet and came up with this:

http://straightfromthefarm.net/2007/06/17/something-original/

Kohlrabi and Squash Empanadas

Kohlrabi and Squash Empanadas

And in progress….

Getting ready for the oven...

Getting ready for the oven...

I bought the main ingredients from the Sunday farmers market but I couldn’t find radishes.  So the sou chef called on her lunch break and asked if I needed anything from the Pike Place Market and 30 seconds and 60 cents later she had in hand a bunch of radishes.. even though I only needed two :)  For round one I used Kroger brand rolled up pie dough which I cut into 6″ rounds with a bowl I had. Perfect except I 1.5 times the filling and only had 1.0 the dough… so I have 3/4 cup of Kohlrabi and Squash cold salad now. Opps.

I also mixed up a quick pesto aioli sauce (homemade pesto from market basil frozen from last year mixed with some mayo) to dip them in.  I’d like to try it with some empanada dough rather than pie crust but the sou chef and our two guests all really like the pie dough as well.  This one was really a winner and could easily be adapted to a variety of hearty market veggies for a change.  A nice Midwest, eat in one hand, surrounded by carb dinner…. Sort of.

The biggest downfall was that the kohlrabi was overpowered by the other flavors.  As Guest 1 noted if kohlrabi was the featured ingredient in dinner today… I would have lost one Iron Chef because it was hardly discernible through the other flavors. Thankfully I’m just going for tasty right now NOT Iron Chef of Ballard status.

Actions

Information

One response

4 02 2009
sara

I CANT WAIT TO EAT THE LEFTOVERS FOR LUNCH

Leave a Reply

