Market Ragout of Turnips, Kohlrabi, and Peas with Homemade Garlic Bread

28 01 2009
Market Ragout of Turnips, Kohlrabi, and Peas with Homemade Garlic Bread

Market Ragout of Turnips, Kohlrabi, and Peas with Homemade Garlic Bread

So this dish started out with a simple sample at the farmers market: kohlrabi.  Raw. It tasted like a cucumber crossed with something else that I’ve forgotten now but darn was it good.  My rommmate tried a bit and was NOT happy with the taste until about 10 seconds later she was like actually… so I bought some.  Still no plan what to do with it the cook book I had with me had no mention of this veggie and I didn’t really have a plan. The girl at the stand suggested steaming it or eating it raw.  While in one way helpful in another “duh”

Well it turns out when I got home I had the crockpot cookbook with me and NOT the farmers market one. Go figure.  So I came across the the above recipe and went for it.  I used 3 of the market turnips I had and bought two more at the local grocery store.  Also, used frozen peas instead of fresh and soy sour cream instead of the french sour cream like substance it called for. 

In the end it was good. The kohlrabi are creamy and while it looked like we were just eating lots of potatoes we weren’t! That part was good.  It is sort of a low key success from the farmers marekt with some local grocery store help but tasty. Almost a healthier version of my love for midwest tunafish casserole: tuna, pasta, peas (if we are being fancy), diced hard boileg eggs, and mayo.  Same type of taste and texture only a fair amount more healthy (I think…  I mean it did have veggie in it and only a 1/3 cup sour cream in the whole thing).

The real tests for these things is how fast / easy the left overs go. We shall see.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

