Part Ordered!

23 01 2009

I ordered a 500 GB Green Power Western Digital drive this week.  I’ve been eyeballing the Chenbro case again recently and the price hasn’t dropped yet.  But I realized that if I wait for the full monty I’ll never start because it is just kind of a crazy project. BUT …

I can start with the parts I have and work on piece at a time.  In a nutshell the steps as I see it are:

1) Get shares on a drive with Puppy Linux
— This essentially is what I have now. A single drive NAS.  If I can get that up and running (should take only a few minutes again) I’d be good. 

2) Add second drive and work on Acron and  rsync for backup replication on a daily basis. !!!

3) Power saving – Pt 1 – Spinning drives down not in use.

4) Power savings – Pt II – Put the whole machine to sleep when inactive.

So lets see what happens I’ll keep you posted.

 

FUTURE THOUGHTS:

1) WOL from router when some one tries to connect to it and it isn’t on/
2) WOL at daily intervals so it backs up daily at the latest.  Once an automatic shutdown procedure is in place and works.  Wake up, backup, shutdown. Nice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

