Pulled Pork BBQ Sandwiches

11 01 2009
Pulled Pork BBQ Sandwhich

Pulled Pork BBQ Sandwhich

All hail the crock pot.  Our local grocery store had pork loins on sale for $1.99/lb so about 3.75 lbs came home and ended up in a crock pot.  I took 1/2 – 2/3 of a 20 oz bottle of Dr. Pepper and pored it into the crock with the pork loin in it, fat untrimmed side down.  Put it on low for 11 hrs or so.  Took it out of the crock pot and scrapped off the fat and threw that away.  At that time I pulled the cooked pork apart with a fork and covered all the pulled pieces on both sides with BBQ rub.  Drained about half the liquid and put the rubbed pulled pork back in.  Then I poured in a bottle of Bullseye BBQ sauce (Selected for the low price and lack of High Fructose Corn Syrup) and a bottle of Jack Daniel’s Lucky #7 BBQ sauce.  Covered and let it go for another 9-10 hrs.  Finally got around to trying it today and I was really impressed with the taste of the cheap BBQ sauce.  Since I used a whole pork loin the pieces of pulled pork were nice and long and kind of hefty which added to it. YUM YUM YUM.

UPDATE: I decided I couldn’t eat all of this ASAP so I had to do something. So I froze the BBQ into “single serve” units in a muffin tin! Check out the creepy / awesome things I created:

Frozen BBQ "Muffins"

Frozen BBQ "Muffins" aka "Pucks"

Actions

Information

One response

12 01 2009
sneppl

those things are AMAZING

Leave a Reply

